Instant Karma’s Gonna Get You

Everyone who left a comment on the Oops She Did It Again! post was entered into the draw, but Sarah W is the lucky winner. Sarah, if you email me your address, I’ll have a copy of To Know The Road sent to you.


As for the rest of you, fear not. Another contest is upon us:

I saw on Tania Hershman’s blog that, as part of May’s Short Story Month, The Fiction Writers Review is encouraging bloggers to give away a short story collection.

The rules:

Post an entry on your blog recommending a recently published short story collection that you have read and loved.

Offer a copy of the book as a giveaway to one lucky person who comments on your blog. (also email erika at fictionwritersreview.com so you can be added to their list of participants.)

Announce the winner(s) on May 31, 2011, and arrange to send out copies of any books you are giving away. 

Remember my Blog Booty post where I mentioned all the free books I was winning, including Nik Perring’s Not So Perfect? Serendipity, my friends, serendipity. Not So Perfect is a “recently published short story  collection” that I have “read and loved.”

Here’s what I said when I reviewed it on Amazon:

Good things come in small packages. Not So Perfect is a tiny little square – 5 x 5 inches. But in this tiny package is a perfect collection of flash fiction. The stories in Nik Perring’s debut collection reveal more than many novels and have real staying power. Long after I finished the book, I found my thoughts returning to its diverse characters, such as:

Shark Boy – who has to keep moving or he will die;

the grumpy old man in Kiss whose love for his younger wife is only fully revealed after his death;

the boy holding a grenade in Seconds Are Ticking By; and

the heartbroken man in Say My Name.

Many of these stories have a real kick at the end and I particularly enjoyed this aspect of My Heart’s In A Box and Seconds Are Ticking By. Not So Perfect is as light as a feather, but there is nothing lightweight about its contents.

It’s good karma for me to give this book away since I won it myself. And, let’s face it, with the dissertation looming, I need all the good karma I can get. (I won’t be giving away the copy I won, not least because it’s inscribed to me by Nik.)

Leave a comment below telling me why you should win Not So Perfect. Comments accepted until 30 May and winner announced on 31  May.

Call me reckless, call me crazy,  but I’m also  submitting a short story this month. What can I say, I love rejection.


18 thoughts on “Instant Karma’s Gonna Get You

  1. No need to enter my name but I did want to comment.

    On the theme of not being perfect, my yoga teacher was talking about the word imperfect. “I. am. perfect,” she said. “imperfect.” I’m surprised I had never heard that before. When I told my 10 year old, she rolled her eyes and said she knew that already. I thought it was so damn witty.

    Yay for you for submitting something! I just got a rejection yesterday but I feel surprisingly okay about it. Not at all like being an actor where all I wanted to do was curl up in a ball and never see the light of day ever again. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

    • i-m-perfect is new to me too.

      yesterday my son told me i was “No fair” and my daughter said, “oh good, we got a new member in the mom’s no fair club.” without one hint of sarcasm. (she’s learning!)

      yes, congrats on sending something out. there are few things writers crave as much as rejection, you know, besides acceptance.

  2. Hooray for me! Now I don’t have to hurry and read my friend’s birthday copy before I send it to her. :) Thanks, Downith!

    The last short story collection I read was one of Jeffry Archer’s . . . wonder if I could snag a copy of that to give away on my blog?

  3. Okay, I’m on it. Thanks for the heads-up on this.

    And I am mightily excited for your submission, dear. Last time I checked good karma brings good–so get ready for good news, I say.

  4. Ahh, rejections, the stuff our backbones are made of. But sending good karma, planets aligned, all that stuff to you. Maybe you won’t need it, maybe pure talent will prevail! :-) As for the short story collection, I have only recently become a fan of the short story and appreciative of the difficulty of doing it well. So add my name to the hat. I’m currently reading Wallace Stegner’s short stories collection, I love Stegner.

    • I’m a Stegner devotee as well. Angle of Repose and Crossing to Safety are two of my all-time favorite books.

      My fingers are crossed for your submission, Downith! And since I’m always blathering on about how much I love short stories, I won’t do it again here and bore you to tears …

  5. I love, love, love a great short story. In my view, there is nothing that satisfies like a good short story. William Trevor and Alice Munro are among my favourite masters of the genre. This year I have read several short story collections: Light Lifting; The ABCs of Love; This Cake is for the Party; The Empty Family….but leaving aside Alice Munro and William Trevor (you can’t go wrong!), two collections I loved are by Elizabeth Strout and by David Bezmozgis. I highly recommend both!

    As to why I should win Not so Perfect….because I am not so perfect, of course.

    Good luck with the submission…but remember there is a difference between not being accepted where you submit and rejection….the story just has to find the right home to be embraced!

  6. Yay, a story heading out into the world. I remember when it was just a sentence…. Good luck!

    I’ve never heard of the imperfect thing either. Guess you have to be in the third grade in crowd or a yoga teacher?

  7. Crazy, reckless DutchessD! That’s wonderful. Submit away.

    Can you enter me for the “SO Not Perfect”? That version seems more up my alley after my weekend.

  8. I want to win because I just lugged a bunch of heavy books back from the other side of the country and a nice, small flash fiction collection sounds perfect. :)

Whatcha got?

